September 2009 view over Trier
September 2009 view over Trier
Flag of Trier
Coat of arms of Trier
Coat of arms
Location of Trier
Trier is located in Germany
Trier is located in Rhineland-Palatinate
Coordinates: 49°45′24″N 06°38′29″E / 49.75667°N 6.64139°E / 49.75667; 6.64139Coordinates: 49°45′24″N 06°38′29″E / 49.75667°N 6.64139°E / 49.75667; 6.64139
DistrictUrban district
 • Lord mayorWolfram Leibe (SPD)
 • Total117.06 km2 (45.20 sq mi)
137 m (449 ft)
 • Total111,528
 • Density950/km2 (2,500/sq mi)
Time zoneUTC+01:00 (CET)
 • Summer (DST)UTC+02:00 (CEST)
Postal codes
54290–54296 (except 54291)
Dialling codes0651
Vehicle registrationTR

Trier (/trɪər/ TREER,[2][3] German: [tʁiːɐ̯] (About this soundlisten); Luxembourgish: Tréier [ˈtʀəɪɐ] (About this soundlisten)), formerly known in English as Treves (/trɛv/ TREV;[4][5] French: Trèves [tʁɛv]; Latin: Augusta Treverorum) and Triers (see also names in other languages), is a city on the banks of the Moselle in Germany. It lies in a valley between low vine-covered hills of red sandstone in the west of the state of Rhineland-Palatinate, near the border with Luxembourg and within the important Moselle wine region.

Founded by the Celts in the late 4th century BC as Treuorum and conquered 300 years later by the Romans, who renamed it Augusta Treverorum ("The City of Augustus among the Treveri"), Trier is considered Germany's oldest city.[6][7] It is also the oldest seat of a bishop north of the Alps. In the Middle Ages, the archbishop-elector of Trier was an important prince of the Church who controlled land from the French border to the Rhine. The archbishop-elector of Trier also had great significance as one of the seven electors of the Holy Roman Empire.

With an approximate population of 105,000, Trier is the fourth-largest city in its state, after Mainz, Ludwigshafen, and Koblenz.[8] The nearest major cities are Luxembourg (50 km or 31 mi to the southwest), Saarbrücken (80 kilometres or 50 miles southeast), and Koblenz (100 km or 62 mi northeast).

The University of Trier, the administration of the Trier-Saarburg district and the seat of the ADD (Aufsichts- und Dienstleistungsdirektion), which until 1999 was the borough authority of Trier, and the Academy of European Law (ERA) are all based in Trier. It is one of the five "central places" of the state of Rhineland-Palatinate. Along with Luxembourg, Metz and Saarbrücken, fellow constituent members of the QuattroPole union of cities, it is central to the greater region encompassing Saar-Lor-Lux (Saarland, Lorraine and Luxembourg), Rhineland-Palatinate, and Wallonia.

  1. ^ "Bevölkerungsstand 2019, Kreise, Gemeinden, Verbandsgemeinden". Statistisches Landesamt Rheinland-Pfalz (in German). 2020.
  2. ^ "Trier" (US) and "Trier". Oxford Dictionaries UK Dictionary. Oxford University Press. Retrieved April 2, 2019.
  3. ^ "Trier". Merriam-Webster Dictionary. Retrieved April 2, 2019.
  4. ^ "Trèves" (US) and "Trèves". Oxford Dictionaries UK Dictionary. Oxford University Press. Retrieved April 2, 2019.
  5. ^ "Trèves". The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language (5th ed.). Boston: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Retrieved April 2, 2019.
  6. ^ Rathaus der Stadt Trier. "Stadt Trier – City of Trier – La Ville de Trèves | Website of the Municipality of Trier". Archived from the original on 2002-08-08. Retrieved 2015-08-26.
  7. ^ An honor that is contested by Cologne, Kempten, and Worms.
  8. ^ "Bevölkerung der Gemeinden am 31.12.2010" (PDF). Statistisches Landesamt Rheinland-Pfalz (in German). 2011. Archived from the original (PDF) on 2012-01-31.