Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Milan

Archdiocese of Milan

Archidioecesis Mediolanensis

Arcidiocesi di Milano
Milan Cathedral from Piazza del Duomo.jpg
Country Italy
Area4,243 km2 (1,638 sq mi)
- Total
- Catholics (including non-members)
(as of 2015)
Increase5,032,130 (Steady91.3%)
Sui iuris churchLatin Church
RiteAmbrosian Rite
(also Roman Rite)
Established1st century
CathedralCattedrale di S. Maria Nascente
Current leadership
ArchbishopMario Delpini
Auxiliary Bishops
  • Franco Agnesi
  • Paolo Martinelli, OFM Cap
  • Giovanni Raimondi[1]
  • Giuseppe Vegezzi[1]
Bishops emeritus
Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Milan in Italy.svg

The Archdiocese of Milan (Italian: Arcidiocesi di Milano; Latin: Archidioecesis Mediolanensis) is a metropolitan see of the Catholic Church in Italy which covers the areas of Milan, Monza, Lecco and Varese. It has long maintained its own Latin liturgical rite, the Ambrosian rite, which is still used in the greater part of the diocesan territory. Among its past archbishops, the better known are Saint Ambrose, Saint Charles Borromeo, Pope Pius XI and Saint Pope Paul VI.

The Archdiocese of Milan is the metropolitan see of the ecclesiastical province of Milan, which includes the suffragan dioceses of Bergamo, Brescia, Como, Crema, Cremona, Lodi, Mantova, Pavia, and Vigevano.[2][3]

Milan's Archdiocese is the largest in Europe,[4] and the one having the most priests in the world, with 2,648 priests living in the diocese, among which 1,861 secular priests.

  1. ^ a b "Resignations and Appointments, 30.04.2020". Holy See Press Office. Holy See. 30 April 2020. Retrieved 30 April 2020.
  2. ^ "Archdiocese of Milano {Milan}" David M. Cheney. Retrieved February 29, 2016.[self-published source]
  3. ^ "Metropolitan Archdiocese of Milano" Gabriel Chow. Retrieved February 29, 2016.[self-published source]
  4. ^ "Milano laica e religiosa" (in Italian). L'Osservatore Romano. 3 June 2012. Retrieved 15 March 2013.