Anglican Communion

Anglican Communion
ClassificationProtestant (with various theological identities across from Anglo-Catholicism to Independent Catholicism)
Primate of All EnglandArchbishop of Canterbury
Secretary GeneralJosiah Idowu-Fearon
Deputy Secretary GeneralWilliam Adam
HeadquartersLondon, England
FounderCharles Longley
Lambeth Conference, London, England
SeparationsContinuing Anglican movement (1977)

The Anglican Communion is the third largest Christian communion after the Catholic Church and Eastern Orthodox Church.[2][3][4] Founded in 1867 in London, the communion has more than 85 million members[5][6] within the Church of England and other national and regional churches in full communion.[7] The traditional origins of Anglican doctrine are summarised in the Thirty-nine Articles (1571). The Archbishop of Canterbury (currently Justin Welby) in England acts as a focus of unity, recognised as primus inter pares ("first among equals"), but does not exercise authority in Anglican provinces outside of the Church of England. Most, but not all, member churches of the communion are the historic national or regional Anglican churches.

The Anglican Communion was founded at the Lambeth Conference in 1867 in London under the leadership of Charles Longley, Archbishop of Canterbury. The churches of the Anglican Communion consider themselves to be part of the one, holy, catholic and apostolic church, and to be both catholic and reformed. Although aligned with the Church of England, the communion has a multitude of beliefs, liturgies, and practises, including evangelical, liberal, and Anglo-Catholic. Each church retains its own legislative process and episcopal polity under the leadership of local primates. For some adherents, Anglicanism represents a non-papal Catholicism, for others a form of Protestantism though without a guiding figure such as Luther, Knox, Calvin, Zwingli or Wesley,[8] or for yet others a combination of the two.

Most of its members live in the Anglosphere of former British territories. Full participation in the sacramental life of each church is available to all communicant members. Because of their historical link to England (ecclesia anglicana means "English church"), some of the member churches are known as "Anglican", such as the Anglican Church of Canada. Others, for example the Church of Ireland, and the Scottish and American Episcopal churches, have official names that do not include "Anglican". Additionally, some "Anglican" churches are not part of the communion.

  1. ^ "Anglicanismo". Igreja Anglicana (in Portuguese). Archived from the original on 2 January 2020. Retrieved 2 January 2020.
  2. ^ Goodhew, David (2016). Growth and Decline in the Anglican Communion: 1980 to the Present. Taylor & Francis. pp. 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50. ISBN 978-1-317-12442-9.
  3. ^ Chapman, Mark David; Clarke, Sathianathan; Percy, Martyn (2016). The Oxford Handbook of Anglican Studies. Oxford University Press. pp. 1, 341. ISBN 978-0-19-921856-1.
  4. ^ Harvard Divinity School, Religious Literacy Project. "Anglican Communion Suspends Episcopal Church Over Same-Sex Marriage".
  5. ^ The Anglican Communion official website – "Provincial Registry"
  6. ^ Kurian, George Thomas; Lamport, Mark A. (2015). Encyclopedia of Christian Education. Rowman & Littlefield. p. 50. ISBN 978-0-8108-8493-9. With a membership currently estimated at over 85 million members worldwide, the Anglican Communion is the third largest Christian communion in the world, after the Roman Catholic Church and the Eastern Orthodox churches.
  7. ^ "St Francis of Assisi Episcopal Church History". 20 July 2012. Archived from the original on 15 August 2012. Retrieved 11 August 2011.
  8. ^ Avis 1998, pp. 417–419.