Simple Minds

Simple Minds
Simple Minds performing live in 2017
Simple Minds performing live in 2017
Background information
Also known asJohnny & The Self-Abusers (1977)
OriginGlasgow, Scotland
Years active1977–present
Associated actsPropaganda
Ex-Simple Minds Edit this at Wikidata
MembersJim Kerr
Charlie Burchill
Ged Grimes
Sarah Brown
Gordy Goudie
Cherisse Osei
Berenice Scott
Past membersBrian McGee
Tony Donald
John Milarky
Allan McNeill
Duncan Barnwell
Mick MacNeil
Derek Forbes
Kenny Hyslop
Mike Ogletree
Mel Gaynor
John Giblin
Eddy Duffy
Andy Gillespie
Catherine AD
Warning: Page using Template:Infobox musical artist with unknown parameter "background" (this message is shown only in preview).

Simple Minds are a Scottish rock band formed in Glasgow in 1977. They have released a string of hit singles, becoming best known internationally for "Don't You (Forget About Me)" (1985), which topped the Billboard Hot 100 in the United States. Other commercially successful singles include "Glittering Prize" (1982), "Someone Somewhere in Summertime" (1982), "Waterfront" (1983) and "Alive and Kicking" (1985), as well as the UK number one single "Belfast Child" (1989).

Simple Minds have achieved six[5] UK Albums chart number one albums, Sparkle in the Rain (1984), Once Upon a Time (1985), Live in the City of Light (1987), Street Fighting Years (1989), and Glittering Prize 81/92 (1992), and have sold more than 60 million albums.[6] They were the most commercially successful Scottish band of the 1980s.[7] Simple Minds have also achieved considerable chart success in the United States, Australia, Germany, Spain, Italy and New Zealand.[5] Despite various personnel changes, they continue to record and tour.

In 2014, Simple Minds were awarded the Q Inspiration Award for their contribution to the music industry and an Ivor Novello Award in 2016 for Outstanding Song Collection from the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers, and Authors.[8] Other notable recognitions include nominations for both the MTV Video Music Award for Best Direction and MTV Video Music Award for Best Art Direction for "Don't You (Forget About Me)" in 1985, nomination for the Brit Award for British Group in 1986 and for the American Music Award for Favorite Pop/Rock Band/Duo/Group in 1987.[9] "Belfast Child" was nominated for the Song of the Year at the 1990 Brit Awards.

The nucleus of Simple Minds consists of the two remaining original members, Jim Kerr (vocals) and Charlie Burchill (electric & acoustic guitars, occasional keyboards after 1990, saxophone and violin). The other current band members are Ged Grimes (bass guitar), Cherisse Osei (drums), Sarah Brown (backing vocals), Gordy Goudie (additional guitar & keyboards). Notable former members include Mick MacNeil (keyboards), Derek Forbes (bass), Brian McGee & Mel Gaynor (drums).[10][needs update]

  1. ^ a b Huey, Steve. "Artist Biography by Steve Huey". AllMusic. Retrieved 6 December 2015.
  2. ^ Chiu, David (25 November 2019). "Simple Minds' Jim Kerr On The Band's 40-Year Career, And The Unlikely Story Of 'Don't You (Forget About Me)'". Forbes. Retrieved 24 April 2021.
  3. ^ Gerard, Chris (12 February 2018). "A long walk between worlds: Jim Kerr on Simple Minds' new album and 40-year musical legacy". PopMatters. Retrieved 24 April 2021.
  4. ^ "Simple Minds – Good News from the Next World". Billboard. Vol. 107 no. 7. 18 February 1995. p. 66. ISSN 0006-2510.
  5. ^ a b
  6. ^ ""When I say that there are a few songs about faith, I don't mean it in a religious sense..." talks to Simple Minds frontman Jim Kerr". HMV. 1 February 2018. Retrieved 14 April 2018.
  7. ^ David Roberts, ed. (2006). British Hit Singles and Albums. Guinness World Records Limited. p. 500. ISBN 978-1904994107.
  8. ^
  9. ^
  10. ^ Colin Larkin, ed. (1997). The Virgin Encyclopedia of Popular Music (Concise ed.). Virgin Books. pp. 1088/9. ISBN 1-85227-745-9.