NFC Championship Game

NFC Championship Game
Nfc championship logo.svg
First played1971 (1970 season)
TrophyGeorge Halas Trophy

Recent and upcoming games
2020 season
Lambeau Field
Green Bay, Wisconsin
January 24, 2021
Tampa Bay Buccaneers 31
Green Bay Packers 26

The NFC Championship Game is the annual championship game of the National Football Conference (NFC) and one of the two semi-final playoff games of the National Football League (NFL), the largest professional American football league in the United States. The game is played on the penultimate Sunday in January by the two remaining playoff teams, following the NFC postseason's first two rounds. The NFC champion then advances to face the winner of the AFC Championship Game in the Super Bowl.

The game was established as part of the 1970 merger between the NFL and the American Football League (AFL), with the merged league realigning into two conferences. Since 1984, each winner of the NFC Championship Game has also received the George Halas Trophy, named after the founder and longtime owner of the Chicago Bears, George Halas.