Los Angeles Rams

Los Angeles Rams
Current season
Established 1936 (1936)
First season: 1936
Play in SoFi Stadium
Inglewood, California
Headquartered in Agoura Hills, California[1]
Los Angeles Rams logo
Los Angeles Rams wordmark
League/conference affiliations

American Football League (1936)
National Football League (1937–present)

Current uniform
La rams uniforms 20.png
Team colorsRoyal blue, sol[2][3][4]
Owner(s)Stan Kroenke[5][6]
ChairmanStan Kroenke
CEOStan Kroenke
PresidentKevin Demoff
Head coachSean McVay
General managerLes Snead
Team history
  • Cleveland Rams (1936–1942, 1944–1945)
  • Suspended operations (1943)
  • Los Angeles Rams (1946–1994, 2016–present)
  • St. Louis Rams (1995–2015)
Team nicknames
League championships (3)
Conference championships (7)
Division championships (17)
Playoff appearances (30)
Home fields

The Los Angeles Rams are a professional American football team based in the Los Angeles metropolitan area. The Rams compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member of the National Football Conference (NFC) West division. The Rams play their home games at SoFi Stadium in Inglewood, which they share with the Los Angeles Chargers.

The franchise began in 1936 as the Cleveland Rams, based in Cleveland, Ohio. The club was owned by Homer Marshman and featured players such as William "Bud" Cooper, Harry "The Horse" Mattos, Stan Pincura, and Mike Sebastian.[8] Damon "Buzz" Wetzel joined as general manager.[9] The franchise relocated to Los Angeles in 1946 following the 1945 NFL Championship Game victory, making way for Paul Brown's Cleveland Browns of the All-America Football Conference and becoming the only NFL championship team to play the following season in another city. The club played their home games at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum before moving into a reconstructed Anaheim Stadium in Orange County, California in 1980. The Rams appeared in Super Bowl XIV, following the 1979 NFL season (their first Super Bowl appearance in franchise history), where they lost to the Pittsburgh Steelers 31–19.

The Rams left southern California and moved to St. Louis, Missouri, following the 1994 NFL season. Five seasons after relocating, the team won Super Bowl XXXIV in a 23–16 victory over the Tennessee Titans. The club then played in Super Bowl XXXVI, where they lost 20–17 to the New England Patriots. The Rams played in St. Louis until the end of the 2015 NFL season, when they filed notice with the NFL of their intent to relocate back to Los Angeles. The club's request to move was approved at an owners' meeting in January 2016, and the Rams returned to the city for the 2016 NFL season. The Rams appeared in Super Bowl LIII, where they lost to the New England Patriots 13–3 in a rematch of Super Bowl XXXVI.[10][11]

The club has won three NFL championships, and is the only NFL franchise to win championships representing three cities (Cleveland in 1945, Los Angeles in 1951, and St. Louis in 1999).

  1. ^ "Contact Info & More". TheRams.com. NFL Enterprises, LLC. Archived from the original on June 28, 2020. Retrieved July 1, 2020.
  2. ^ "Los Angeles Rams New Look". RamsNewLook.com. NFL Enterprises, LLC. March 23, 2020. Archived from the original on August 3, 2020. Retrieved March 24, 2020.
  3. ^ "Fingertip Information" (PDF). 2020 Los Angeles Rams Media Guide. NFL Enterprises, LLC. September 17, 2020. Archived (PDF) from the original on October 24, 2020. Retrieved September 20, 2020.
  4. ^ "Los Angeles Rams Team Capsule". 2020 Official National Football League Record & Fact Book. NFL Enterprises, LLC. August 17, 2020. Archived from the original on August 19, 2020. Retrieved August 25, 2020.
  5. ^ "NFL unanimously approves Kroenke as Rams' majority owner". NFL.com. NFL Enterprises, LLC. Associated Press. August 25, 2010. Archived from the original on June 13, 2018. Retrieved April 27, 2020.
  6. ^ "E. Stanley Kroenke". TheRams.com. NFL Enterprises, LLC. Archived from the original on September 28, 2020. Retrieved April 27, 2020.
  7. ^ Cite error: The named reference RamsFAQs was invoked but never defined (see the help page).
  8. ^ Braunwart, Bob. "All Those A.F.L.'s: N.F.L. Competitors, 1935–41". Professional Football Researchers Association. Archived from the original on October 18, 2007. Retrieved November 13, 2006. In 1937 the N.F.L. admitted the Cleveland Rams. Four of the players (according to Treat) were the same.
  9. ^ Joe F. Carr, ed., Official Guide of the National Football League: 1937 [New York: American Sports Publishing Co., 1937], 43.
  10. ^ Wesseling, Chris (February 3, 2019). "Patriots defeat Rams 13-3 in Super Bowl LIII". NFL.com. NFL Enterprises. Archived from the original on June 23, 2019. Retrieved June 21, 2019.
  11. ^ Plaschke, Bill (January 20, 2019). "Rams have L.A. back in Super Bowl after breathtaking win over Saints". Los Angeles Times. Archived from the original on June 11, 2019. Retrieved June 21, 2019.