Baltimore Ravens

Baltimore Ravens
Current season
Established February 9, 1996 (1996-02-09)[1][2]
First season: 1996
Play in M&T Bank Stadium
Baltimore, Maryland
Headquartered in Owings Mills, Maryland
Baltimore Ravens logo
Baltimore Ravens wordmark
League/conference affiliations

National Football League (1996–present)

Current uniform
Baltimore ravens uniforms.png
Team colorsPurple, black, metallic gold[3][4][5]
Fight song"The Baltimore Fight Song"[6]
MascotPoe (costumed mascot)
Rise and Conquer (live ravens)
Owner(s)Steve Bisciotti[7]
PresidentDick Cass
Head coachJohn Harbaugh
General managerEric DeCosta
Team history
  • Baltimore Ravens (1996–present)
League championships (2)
Conference championships (2)
Division championships (6)
Playoff appearances (13)
Home fields

The Baltimore Ravens are a professional American football team based in Baltimore. The Ravens compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the American Football Conference (AFC) North division. The team plays its home games at M&T Bank Stadium and is headquartered in Owings Mills, Maryland.[8]

The club was established in 1996, after Art Modell, who was then the owner of the Cleveland Browns, announced plans in 1995 to relocate the franchise from Cleveland to Baltimore.[9] As part of a settlement between the league and the city of Cleveland, Modell was required to leave the Browns' history and records in Cleveland for a replacement team and replacement personnel that would resume play in 1999. In return, he was allowed to take his own personnel and team to Baltimore, where such personnel would then form an expansion team.

The Ravens have been one of the more successful franchises since their inception; the team has qualified for the NFL playoffs 13 times since 2000 with two Super Bowl championship titles (Super Bowl XXXV and Super Bowl XLVII), two AFC Championship titles (2000 and 2012), four AFC Championship game appearances (2000, 2008, 2011 and 2012), six AFC North division titles (2003, 2006, 2011, 2012, 2018, and 2019) and 16 playoff victories. The Ravens organization was led by general manager Ozzie Newsome from 1996 until his retirement following the 2018 season, and has had three head coaches: Ted Marchibroda, Brian Billick, and since 2008, John Harbaugh. Starting with a record-breaking defensive performance in their 2000 season, the Ravens have established a reputation for strong defensive play throughout team history. Former players such as middle linebacker Ray Lewis, safety Ed Reed, and offensive tackle Jonathan Ogden have been enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The team is owned by Steve Bisciotti and valued at $2.98 billion, making the Ravens the 33rd-most valuable sports franchise in the world.[10]

  1. ^ "Ravens History". NFL Enterprises, LLC. Archived from the original on November 25, 2020. Retrieved August 3, 2018.
  2. ^ "Baltimore Ravens Team Facts". NFL Enterprises, LLC. Archived from the original on March 8, 2021. Retrieved July 28, 2019.
  3. ^ "Naming Baltimore's Team: Ravens". NFL Enterprises, LLC. Archived from the original on November 22, 2018. Retrieved December 29, 2020.
  4. ^ "Baltimore Ravens Team Capsule". 2020 Official National Football League Record and Fact Book. NFL Enterprises, LLC. August 17, 2020. Archived from the original on August 19, 2020. Retrieved December 29, 2020.
  5. ^ "Logo Usage Guidelines" (PDF). NFL Enterprises, LLC. April 12, 2016. Archived (PDF) from the original on February 25, 2021. Retrieved May 7, 2018.
  6. ^ "Ravens Fight Song". NFL Enterprises, LLC. Archived from the original on August 4, 2018. Retrieved August 3, 2018.
  7. ^ "Ravens Front Office Roster". NFL Enterprises. Archived from the original on June 30, 2020. Retrieved July 2, 2020.
  8. ^ "Ravens Contact Us". NFL Enterprises, LLC. Archived from the original on March 29, 2020. Retrieved November 17, 2019.
  9. ^ "The Jaguars – NFL Relocations and the LA Stadium Plan". Metro Jacksonville. January 29, 2010. Archived from the original on March 5, 2016. Retrieved January 5, 2016.
  10. ^ [1]