Albanese government

Albanese government
In office
23 May 2022 – present
MonarchElizabeth II
Charles III
Governor-GeneralDavid Hurley (May 2022-July 2024)
Sam Mostyn (July 2024-present
Prime MinisterAnthony Albanese
DeputyRichard Marles
PartyAustralian Labor Party
OriginLabor wins 2022 federal election
PredecessorMorrison government

The Albanese government is the federal executive government of Australia, led by Prime Minister Anthony Albanese of the Australian Labor Party. The Albanese government commenced on 23 May 2022, when Albanese and an interim ministry of four other Labor MPs were sworn into their relevant ministerial portfolios by the Governor-General of Australia.[1] The government is composed of members of the Australian Labor Party. The party initially governed with 77 seats on the floor of the House of Representatives, enough for a two-seat majority.[a] Albanese succeeded the Scott Morrison-led Liberal/National Coalition government (2018–2022), which became unable to continue in government following their defeat in the 2022 federal election. This is the first Labor government to be in office at the federal level since the second Rudd government was defeated by the Coalition at the 2013 election. Deputy Labor leader Richard Marles is serving as Deputy Prime Minister of Australia.[2]

  1. ^ Brett Worthington (23 May 2022). "Anthony Albanese and four senior frontbenchers sworn in ahead of Quad trip". ABC News. Archived from the original on 22 May 2022. Retrieved 23 May 2022.
  2. ^ Rob McLennan (23 May 2022). "Marles in charge as Albo jets out". Bay 93.9. Archived from the original on 23 May 2022. Retrieved 23 May 2022.

Cite error: There are <ref group=lower-alpha> tags or {{efn}} templates on this page, but the references will not show without a {{reflist|group=lower-alpha}} template or {{notelist}} template (see the help page).