Colony (In Flames album)

Studio album by
Released21 May 1999 (Japan)
31 May 1999 (international)
RecordedNovember 1998
StudioStudio Fredman, Gothenburg, Sweden
GenreMelodic death metal[1]
LabelNuclear Blast
ProducerFredrik Nordström and In Flames
In Flames chronology
Professional ratings
Review scores
AllMusic3.5/5 stars[2]
Metal Storm9.4/10[3]
Sputnikmusic4.5/5 stars[1]

Colony is the fourth studio album by Swedish metal band In Flames, released on 21 May 1999 via Nuclear Blast Records.

It is the first In Flames album to feature the band's classic line-up; Björn Gelotte switched to lead guitar to replace Glenn Ljungström and Daniel Svensson filled the drummer position left vacant by Gelotte. Peter Iwers became the new bass player, replacing Johan Larsson. With Anders Fridén and Jesper Strömblad remaining on vocals and rhythm guitar respectively, this lineup remained unchanged until 2010.

In 2021, it was named one of the 20 best metal albums of 1999 by Metal Hammer magazine.[4]

  1. ^ a b "Sputnikmusic review". 16 September 2003. Retrieved 28 October 2013.
  2. ^ "Colony - In Flames". AllMusic. Retrieved 8 May 2015.
  3. ^ "Metal Storm review". 2 September 2003. Retrieved 28 October 2013.
  4. ^ "The Top 20 best metal albums of 1999". Metal Hammer. Future plc. 21 January 2021. Retrieved 6 March 2021.