Carteret County, North Carolina

Carteret County
Carteret County Courthouse
Carteret County Courthouse
Official seal of Carteret County
Map of North Carolina highlighting Carteret County
Location within the U.S. state of North Carolina
Map of the United States highlighting North Carolina
North Carolina's location within the U.S.
Coordinates: 34°44′N 76°46′W / 34.73°N 76.77°W / 34.73; -76.77
Country United States
State North Carolina
Named forSir George Carteret
Largest townMorehead City
 • County ManagerTommy Burns
 • Total1,341 sq mi (3,470 km2)
 • Land506 sq mi (1,310 km2)
 • Water834 sq mi (2,160 km2)  62%
 • Estimate 
 • Density131/sq mi (51/km2)
Time zoneUTC−5 (Eastern)
 • Summer (DST)UTC−4 (EDT)
Congressional district3rd

Carteret County is located in the U.S. state of North Carolina. As of the 2010 census, the population was 66,469.[2] Its county seat is Beaufort.[3] The county was created in 1722 as Carteret Precinct and gained county status in 1739.[4] It was named for Sir George Carteret, one of the 17th century English Lords Proprietor, or for his descendant and heir John Carteret, 2nd Earl Granville.

Carteret County comprises the Morehead City, NC Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the New Bern-Morehead City, NC Combined Statistical Area. Most of the county is part of the Crystal Coast.

  1. ^ "Population and Housing Unit Estimates". U.S. Census Bureau. August 16, 2017. Retrieved August 16, 2017.
  2. ^ "State & County QuickFacts". United States Census Bureau. Archived from the original on July 8, 2011. Retrieved October 18, 2013.
  3. ^ "Find a County". National Association of Counties. Archived from the original on 2011-05-31. Retrieved 2011-06-07.
  4. ^ "North Carolina: Individual County Chronologies". North Carolina Atlas of Historical County Boundaries. The Newberry Library. 2009. Retrieved January 22, 2015.