Cape Town

Cape Town

Kaapstad  (Afrikaans)
iKapa  (Xhosa)
//Hui !gaeb  (Khoekhoe)
City of Cape Town at the foot of Table Mountain as seen from Bloubergstrand. The area around the city is famous for its plant biodiversity as illustrated in the foreground of the photograph.
Cape Town CBD Skyline
Clifton Beach
Port of Cape Town
Aerial view of the Strand golf club.
The Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
From top, left to right: Cape Town at the foot of Table Mountain as seen from Bloubergstrand, Cape Town's City Bowl Skyline, Clifton beach, Strand, Port of Cape Town, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.
Official logo of Cape Town
Mother City, Tavern of the Seas, West side
Spes Bona (Latin for "Good Hope")
Cape Town is located in Western Cape
Cape Town
Cape Town
Cape Town is located in South Africa
Cape Town
Cape Town
Cape Town is located in Africa
Cape Town
Cape Town
Coordinates: 33°55′31″S 18°25′26″E / 33.92528°S 18.42389°E / -33.92528; 18.42389Coordinates: 33°55′31″S 18°25′26″E / 33.92528°S 18.42389°E / -33.92528; 18.42389
CountrySouth Africa
ProvinceWestern Cape
MunicipalityCity of Cape Town
Municipal government1839
 • TypeMetropolitan municipality
 • MayorDan Plato (DA)
 • Deputy MayorIan Neilson (DA)
 • Total2,461 km2 (950 sq mi)
Highest elevation
1,590.4 m (5,217.8 ft)
Lowest elevation
0 m (0 ft)
 • Total3,740,026
 • Estimate 
 • Density1,500/km2 (3,900/sq mi)
Racial makeup (2011)
 • Black38.6%
 • Coloured42.4%
 • Indian/Asian1.4%
 • White15.7%
 • Other1.9%
First languages (2011)
 • Afrikaans34.9%
 • Xhosa29.2%
 • English27.8%
Time zoneUTC+2 (SAST)
Postal codes (street)
PO box
GDPUS$78.7 billion[4]
GDP per capitaUS$19,656[4]

Cape Town (Afrikaans: Kaapstad [ˈkɑːpstat]; Xhosa: iKapa;) is the second-most populous city in South Africa, after Johannesburg, and also the legislative capital of South Africa.

Colloquially named the Mother City,[5] it is the largest city of the Western Cape province[6] and forms part of the City of Cape Town metropolitan municipality. The Parliament of South Africa is situated in Cape Town.[7] The other two capitals are located in Gauteng (Pretoria the executive capital where the Presidency is based) and in the Free State (Bloemfontein the judicial capital where the Supreme Court of Appeal is located).[8] The city is known for its harbour, for its natural setting in the Cape Floristic Region, and for landmarks such as Table Mountain and Cape Point. Cape Town is home to 49% of the Western Cape's population.[9] The city was named the World Design Capital for 2014 by the International Council of Societies of Industrial Design.[10]

In 2014, Cape Town was named the best place in the world to visit by both The New York Times[11] and The Daily Telegraph.[12] Cape Town has also been a host city for both the 1995 Rugby World Cup and 2010 FIFA World Cup, and annually hosts the Africa leg of the World Rugby 7s.[13]

Located on the shore of Table Bay, Cape Town, as the oldest urban area in the Western Cape, it was developed by the Dutch East India Company (VOC) as a supply station for Dutch ships sailing to East Africa, India, and the Far East. Jan van Riebeeck's arrival on 6 April 1652 established the VOC Cape Colony, the first permanent European settlement in South Africa. Cape Town outgrew its original purpose as the first European outpost at the Castle of Good Hope, becoming the economic and cultural hub of the Cape Colony. Until the Witwatersrand Gold Rush and the development of Johannesburg, Cape Town was the largest city in South Africa.

  1. ^ "City of Cape Town announces new city manager". News24. 26 April 2018. Archived from the original on 15 August 2019. Retrieved 5 February 2019.
  2. ^ a b c d "Statistics by place - City of Cape Town". Census 2011. Statistics South Africa. Archived from the original on 1 October 2020. Retrieved 16 September 2020.
  3. ^ Community Survey 2016: Provincial profile: Western Cape (PDF) (Report). Statistics South Africa. 2018. p. 7.
  4. ^ a b "Global city GDP 2011". Brookings Institution. Archived from the original on 5 June 2013. Retrieved 18 November 2014.
  5. ^ "The Mother City Cape Town". Skylife. Retrieved 12 October 2020.
  6. ^ "Discover the 9 Provinces of South Africa and their Capital Cities". Archived from the original on 14 June 2017. Retrieved 22 June 2017.
  7. ^ "Western Cape | province, South Africa". Encyclopedia Britannica. Archived from the original on 8 May 2017. Retrieved 22 June 2017.
  8. ^ "Pretoria | national administrative capital, South Africa". Encyclopedia Britannica. Archived from the original on 18 July 2018. Retrieved 18 July 2018.
  9. ^ Bartie, Herman (19 December 2020). "South Africa Population (2020) - Worldometer". Retrieved 19 December 2020.
  10. ^ "Cape Town Hosts Official WDC 2014 Signing Ceremony". World Design Capital. Archived from the original on 10 March 2013. Retrieved 4 August 2012.
  11. ^ "14 Fun Facts You Didn't Know About Cape Town - Interesting & Amusing Things about the Mother City". Cape Town Magazine. Archived from the original on 26 June 2014. Retrieved 17 June 2014.
  12. ^ Bruyn, Pippa de (5 February 2016). "The world's best cities". Archived from the original on 5 January 2016. Retrieved 4 April 2018.
  13. ^ "Rounds and Tournaments - HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series |". Retrieved 12 October 2020.